Update – Low Rise Medium Density Housing Code

We previously advised that the Low Rise Medium Housing Code (‘The Code’) was scheduled to commence 1 July 2019 for almost 50 councils across NSW.

Unfortunately, the NSW Government announced on 28 June 2019 a short deferral until 31 October 2019 for 45 councils.

In summary, the Code applies to the following Councils from 6 July 2018:

  • Blacktown
  • Fairfield
  • Waverley
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • North Sydney
  • Newcastle
  • Lake Macquarie
  • Cessnock
  • Dungog
  • Maitland
  • Muswellbrook
  • Port Stephens
  • Singleton

The Code applies to the following Councils from 1 July 2019:

  • Armidale Regional
  • Ballina Shire
  • Lane Cove
  • Narromine Shire

The Code has been temporarily deferred until 31 October 2019 in the following 45 Local Government Areas (LGAs): Bathurst Regional, Bayside, Bellingen, Blue Mountains, Burwood, Byron, Camden, City of Campbelltown, City of Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Central Coast, City of Coffs Harbour, Cumberland, Georges River, City of Hawkesbury, Hilltops, Hornsby, Hunter’s Hill, Inner West, Kiama, City of Liverpool, Mid-Coast, Mid-Western Regional, Moree Plains, Mosman, Northern Beaches, City of Parramatta, Penrith City, City of Randwick, City of Shellharbour, City of Shoalhaven, Snowy Monaro, Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, City of Sydney, Tamworth Regional, The Hills Shire, Tweed, Upper Lachlan Shire, City of Willoughby, Wingecarribee Shire, Wollondilly, City of Wollongong, Woollahra, Yass Valley.

The Code remains deferred in the City of Ryde LGA until 1 July 2020.

To discuss a development opportunity under the Low Rise Medium Density Housing Code with one of our Architects, call us on 02 8704 4331 or use the contact form on our website.